The Secretary


Ramon M. Lopez is the Secretary of the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI). His extensive government experience with the Presidential Management Staff (PMS), DTI, and the National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) in the early part of his career provided him with a solid background on macroeconomic and industry development that allowed him to adopt a more holistic trade approach when he moved to the private sector and became a top executive of a major Philippine food and beverage company for over 23 years.

As a strong advocate for free entrepreneurship education for 12 years, he was called to serve the country again under President Rodrigo Roa Duterte’s administration as the DTI Secretary. He chairs several institutions under DTI such as the Board of Investments (BOI), the Cagayan Economic Zone Authority (CEZA), the Small Business Corporation (SB Corp.), the Philippine Economic Zone Authority (PEZA), National Development Corporation (NDC), Export Development Council (EDC), Halal Board. He also supervises attached agencies such as the Intellectual Property Office of the Philippines (IPOPHL) and the Cooperative Development Authority (CDA).

He has received several awards such as: the Honorary Agora in Nation Building Award in 2018; the 2016 Nation Builders Award for Government Service for his role as prime mover in Micro, Small, and Medium Enterprise (MSME) development; and the Philippine Innovation Man of the Year Award in 2017 for the promotion of social entrepreneurship through innovation. In 2018, he received from President Duterte the Order of Sikatuna, with a rank of Datu, one of the senior honors one can receive in the Philippines.

He earned his Bachelor’s Degree in Economics from the University of the Philippines and topped his Master’s Degree in Development Economics class at Williams College, Massachusetts.

The authority and responsibility for the exercise of the DTI mandate is vested in the Secretary who, like his predecessors, is a Presidential appointee who serves office at the pleasure of the President.

The Secretary, as the DTI Department head, has the authority and responsibility for the discharge of DTI powers and functions.

Specifically, his functions are:

  • To advise the President of the Philippines on matters related to trade and investments, and industry, and on the promulgation of Department orders, rules and regulations, and other issuances related to trade, industry, and investments
  • To establish policies and standards for the effective, efficient, and economical operations of the Department in accordance with government programs
  • To supervise and control all offices, functions, and activities of the Department
  • To delegate authority for the performance of any administrative or substantive function to any Undersecretary or other officials of rank at the Department
  • To ensure the clear delineation of the functions of personnel and constituent units of the Department, including its attached agencies to prevent task duplication or overlapping




Former DTI Secretary Adrian S. Cristobal Jr.

Adrian S. Cristobal Jr, December 2015 – June 2016
From Left to Right:
Gregory L. Domingo, July 2010 – December 2015
Jesli A. Lapus, March – June 2010
Peter B. Favila, 2005 – 2010
Juan B. Santos, February – July 2005
Cesar A.V. Purisima, 2004 – 2005



Portraits of former DTI Secretaries Roxas, Pardo, Bautista, Navarro, and Bautista
From Left to Right:
Manuel A. Roxas II, 1999 – 2003
Jose T. Pardo, 1998 – 1999
Cesar B. Bautista, 1996 – 1998
Rizalino S. Navarro, 1992 – 1996
Lilia R. Bautista, February – June 1992 (Acting Secretary)



portraits of former secretaries Garrucho, Concepcion, Ongpin, Villafuerte, and Paterno
From Left to Right:
Peter D. Garrucho, 1991 – 1992
Jose A. Concepcion, Jr., 1986 – 1991
Roberto V. Ongpin, 1979 – 1986
Luis R. Villafuerte, 1980 – 1981
Vicente T. Paterno, 1974 – 1979



Portraits of former DTI Secretaries Quiazon, Maceda, Virata, Balatbat, and Hechanova
From Left to Right:
Troadio T. Quiazon, 1971 – 1974
Ernesto Maceda, 1970 – 1971
Leonides Virata, 1969 – 1970
Marcelo Balatbat, 1966 – 1968
Rufino G. Hechanova, 1962 – 1963



Portraits of former DTI Secretaries Lim, Hernaez, Ledesms, Mapa, and Balmaceda
From Left to Right:
Manuel Lim, 1960 – 1962
Pedro C. Hernaez, 1957 – 1960
Oscar Ledesma, 1953 – 1957
Placido L. Mapa, 1948 – 1953
Cornelio Balmaceda, 1947-1948; 1949-1953; 1963-1965