The Department of Trade and Industry and its Bureau of Philippine Standards (BPS), in partnership with the Department of Education (DepEd) and with ABSCBN’s DzMM, successfully conducted the 7th Standards-Essay Writing Contest (SEWC) and the 1st Standards Poster-Making Contest (SPMC) held at the Philippine Trade Training Center (PTTC) in Pasay City, last 10 October 2017.

The essay writing and poster making contests were part of the activities to celebrate the 48th World Standard Day (14 October) and the 43rd National Standards Week (08-14 October) with the theme, “Standards Make Cities Smarter”.

The said contests are part of the DTI-DepEd NCR’s cooperation on the Standards Blitz Programme for the education of the youth on the relevance of standards and standardization activities. In addition, the DTI-ABSCBN were in partnership to promote the advocacy on consumer protection through Konsyumer Atbp (KATBP) by conducting the contests.

Awarding Ceremonies

The winners of the SEWC and SPMC were awarded during the Konsyumer Atbp (KATBP) episode last 28 October 2017 at the ABSCBN’s DzMM Studio.

Winners of the Essay Writing and Poster Making Contest tours the DzMM Studio prior to the awarding ceremonies.

Mr. John Alex Estrella of Taguig Science High School was awarded as the champion in this year’s essay writing contest while Ms Clarissa Rodriguez of Malabon National High School and Ms. Denice Canilao of Makati Science High School placed second and third respectively.

The 7th SEWC winners, together with their mentors, awarded during the Konsyumer Atbp (KATBP) episode last 28 October 2017. (from left to right) Denice Canilao, 2nd runner-up, Clarissa Rodriguez, 1st runner-up and John Alex Estrella, Champion

For the 1st Standards Poster Making Contest, Mr. Prince Edrow dela Cruz of Navotas National High School took home the bragging rights as the inaugural champion of the contest. Upper Bicutan National High School’s Mr. John Michael Castillo took home the 1st runner up title and Mr. John Paulo Garcia of Pasig City Science High School was the 2nd runner up. A special BPS Choice award meanwhile was awarded to Mr. Darwin Ramos of Golden Acres National High School.

DTI-Consumer Protection Group (DTI-CPG) Undersecretary Atty. Teodoro Pascua and DTI-CPG Assistant Secretary Atty. Ernesto V. Perez awards the winners of the 1st Standards Poster Making Contest during the KATBP radio program. The winners are: (top row, left) Prince Edrow dela Cruz of Navotas National Science High School, Champion; (top row, right) John Michael Castillo of Upper Bicutan National High School, 1st Runner-Up; (bottom row, left) John Paulo A. Garcia of Pasig City Science High School, 2nd Runner-Up; and (bottom row, right) Darwin C. Ramos of Golden Acres National High School, BPS Choice Award.

Both the Essay Writing Contest and the Poster Making Contest judging of entries were held at the BPS Conference rooms in the 3F, Trade and Industry Building, Sen. Gil Puyat Avenue, Makati City on 13 October 2017.

The three (3)-member board of judges for the essay writing was led by Dr. Arnold Gatus of Deped as Chairman, joined by Mr. Victorino Soriano of DTI Export Marketing Bureau (DTI-EMB) and Mr. Zandro Ochona of DzMM as members. The poster making contest judging on the other hand was led by Mr. Cresenciano Par of DTI-Knowledge Management and Information Service (KMIS) as the group’s chairman, Engr. Mario Gaudiano of DTI-BPS and Ms. Josephine Go from Peideworth Marketing as members.

The DTI- Bureau of Philippine Standards (DTI-BPS) operates the Standards Essay Writing Contest and Standards Poster Making Contest through its broadcasting program, Konsyumer Atbp (KATBP) that airs over ABS-CBN’s DZMM, every Saturday from 10:30 in the morning to 12:00 noon.

The DTI, DepEd and ABS-CBN conducted the contests in cooperation with the Peideworth Marketing, Regan Industrial Sales, Inc., Bostanten Corp., Eagle Electric of the Phils., Kellitech Import And Export Services, Wisdom Global Red Trading Inc., TUV Rheinland Phils. Inc., Sheratone Industries Inc., Tosot Phils., Mayer Steel Pipe Corporation, IKHEA Lightings Inc., and, Kitchen Beauty.♦