In order to accelerate the delivery of services to the localities especially the processing of business documents of micro, small, medium enterprises (MSMEs), the DTI-Region 6 is establishing additional Negosyo Centers (NCs) in the Provinces of Iloilo and Negros Occidental, this year.

In the Province of Negros Occidental, a total of 10 NCs will be established in the municipalities of Calatrava, Candoni, Ilog, Manapla, Moises Padilla (Magallon), Murcia, Pulupandan, Salvador Benedicto, Toboso and Valladolid. Once concluded, the province will have the presence of NCs in all its 19 municipalities and 13 cities.

In Iloilo Province, nine more NCs will be established in the municipalities of Balasan, Alimodian, Badiangan, Duenas, Dumangas, Igbaras, Janiuay, New Lucena and San Dionisio. By the end of the year, the province will already have established a total of 37 NCs.

The Go Negosyo Act or Republic Act No. 10644 mandates the establishment of NCs in accessible locations in the cities and municipalities to be able to help entrepreneurs or would-be businessmen grow their businesses.

The Center helps MSMEs with the processing of business requirements like obtaining registration, business license, and getting technical, financial, and business management assistance, among others.

Last year, the Province of Guimaras has completed the establishment of NCs in all of its five municipalities. The Provinces of Aklan (17 towns), Antique (18 towns) and Capiz (17 towns) concluded the establishment of NCs in all their respective municipalities in 2018 yet.

For Region 6, there will be a total of 147 NCs lodged in the different municipalities and cities, including those established at the provincial government offices and the DTI Provincial Offices, by December 2020.♦

Date of Release: 24 January 2020