SOCCSKSARGEN – The team composing the DTI-DPWH Convergence for Roads Leveraging Linkages of Trade and Industry (ROLL IT) Program for Region XII conducted a Consultation Meeting with stakeholders to finalize the proposed road concreting projects at The Farm at Carpenter Hills Steakhouse in Koronadal City last Friday, February 23, 2018.

A duo from the Central Technical Working Group (CTWG) presented the list of approved projects for 2018 and presented the Revised Guidelines and Updates on the 2019 ROLL IT Program. Breakdown of the projects per province are as follow: 1) Cotabato Province – 10 projects; 2) Sarangani Province – 1 project; 3) South Cotabato – 5 projects ; 4) Sultan Kudarat – 4 projects.

Near a hundred LGU representatives from the four provinces and key cities of the region have attended the consultation meeting which aims to deliberate 48 projects that were approved by the Regional Technical Working Group (RTWG) headed by the two team leaders from DTI and DPWH namely Engr. Anthony Bravo of DTI Cotabato Province and Engr. Annabel Dulay, Chief of the DPWH. Members of the RTWG from the DTI and DPWH together with the DTI provincial directors and officers-in-charge and regional and provincial division chiefs also attended the event.

Two Local Chief Executives (LCEs) came in to show support to their respective team members. They are Mayor Ramon Abalos of Lambayong, Sultan Kudarat and Mayor Sumulong Sultan of Pikit, Cotabato.

Mr. Leonard Flores, Chief of the Industry Development Division of the DTI 12 Regional Office, head secretariat and member of the RTWG, presented the Initial Assessment of Project Proposals for Enrolment in the 2019 ROLL IT. He also revealed the projects that have passed the assessment of the DTI-DPWH Regional Technical Working Group which will be submitted to the Regional Development Council. Projects that will pass the scrutiny of the 

RDC will, in turn, be endorsed to the Central Technical Working Group in Manila for final technical review and deliberation. Said group, upon identifying the final list of projects, will endorse them to the Congress for funding/inclusion in the General Appropriations Act (GAA) as part of DPWH’s budget for the succeeding year (2019).

So far, out of more than a hundred projects, 48 were shortlisted by the RTWG. Breakdown of these projects are as follow: From North Cotabato – 17 projects; Sultan Kudarat – 9 projects; Cotabato City – 3 projects; South Cotabato – 9 projects; Sarangani – 7 projects and General Santos City – 3 projects.

To date, 19 Road Concreting projects and 1 Road Improvement Project from Region 12 have been approved by the CTWG in 2017 and funded by Congress for DPWH’s implementation.

For Cotabato Province, the following are the approved projects: 1) Aleosan Barangay Road from Katalicanan – Cawilihan- Lawili, in support to Rubber and Palm Oil Industries; 2) Aleosan Barangay Road from Lawili to Pentil to Palacat in support to Rubber and Palm Oil Industries; 3) Aleosan Barangay Road from San Mateo – sitio Taguan – to Puypoyon Dualing, in support to Rubber, Palm oil and Coconut Industries; 4) Aleosan Barangay Road from Upper Katalicanan to Sitio Citrus New Leon, in support to Rubber and Palm Oil Industries; 5) Kidapawan City Barangay Sudapin Road from Sudapin (Jct. Kidapawan – Ilomavis Tourist Road) to Purok 5, Brgy. Sudapin in support to Rubber and Banana industry; 6) National Highway to Tamped, Matalam in support to Rubber sheet processing; 7) New Panay/Tupig to Kibenes/Carmen in support to Rubber Processing Center; 8) Poblacion – Nuangan Road, Brgy. Nuangan in support to Coco Husk Processing Plants; 9) Sayre Road-Sitio Tawagon-Kilambay, Brgy. Kibudtungan to salama, banisilan road in support to the Coconut Processing Industry; 10) Tulunan (Poblacion) road to Brgy. Dungos, Tulunan in support to the Palm Oil and Banana Industries

On the other hand, for South Cotabato Province, five projects were approved. These are: 1) Blagan-Datal Laguh San Jose – Pao Pao Sinawal Road connecting to Albert Morrow Boulevard in Support of the Agri-Business Industry of General Santos City; 2) Jct. Nhwy. – Crossing Palkan – Lamcaliaf – Kalsangi Road Connecting Kalsangi Golf Course and National 

Highway in support of Agri-Business and Tourism Industries, Polomolok, South Cotabato; 3) Jct. Nhwy. – Sto. Niǹo – Kibang Road connecting Coffee, Cacao, Peanut and Corn Plantation and Processing Areas and National Highway in support of Agri-Business Industry, Sto. Niǹo and Lake Sebu, South Cotabato; 4) Poblacion-San Isidro- Liberty-Pulabato-Palo Road connecting HVCC plantation areas and Tampakan Public Market in support of Agri-Business Industry, Tampakan, South Cotabato; 5) Purok 3A, Poblacion- Lote, Linan Road Connecting to Coffee and Cacao Processing Areas and Tupi Public market in support to Agri-Business Industry, Tupi, South Cotabato.

Four projects from Sultan Kudarat were approved and funded for implementation. Three of the projects are on concreting of roads namely: 1) Road from Brgy Basak – Villamonte – Capilan – to New Calinog in support to Bamboo and Coffee Plantation; 2) Tacurong East By-Pass Road from Brgy. San Antonio-D’Ledesma-San Pablo Brgy Kalandagan Barangay Road in support to banana and palm oil industries; and 3) Tuka – Bai Sarifinang Road in Bagumbayan SK in support to Agri-based Industries (Pineapple, Coffee, Rubber, Corn and Muscovado Processing plant). On the other hand, 1 project is on Road Improvement ( with cross drainage) which is located in the national highway junction, Poblacion President Quirino connecting to Bgy. Bagumbayan in support to Agri-based Industries (Palm Oil, Muscovado/Sugar cane, Vegetables, Rice & Corn).

Lastly, Sarangani Province has 1 approved road concreting project which is located in Road Alkikan-Datal Batong-Datal Bila in support to Agro-industries.♦


DTI-DPWH ROLL IT South Cotabato