DTI Antique Provincial Director Mercedes A. Young (right) and DTI VI Small and Medium Enterprise Development Division Officer-in-Charge Mary Jade Gonzales (left) join Barbaza, Antique Mayor Gerry C. Necor (center) in the ribbon-cutting ceremony during the launching of the Negosyo Center Barbaza on September 20, 2018. The Province of Antique is the first province in Western Visayas to complete the establishment of NCs in all its municipality.

DTI’s good relationship with local government units and the dynamic outlook of local chief executives, made it all possible for the swift establishment of Negosyo Centers (NC) in the Province of Antique, said DTI Antique Provincial Director Mercedes A. Young.
The Province of Antique is the first province in Western Visayas to complete the establishment of the NC in all of its 18 municipalities with the launching of the NC Tobias Fornier last September 21.
NC Tobias Fornier is the 86th NC in Western Visayas established by the DTI.
On September 18, DTI Antique Provincial Office started its marathon launching with the opening of the NC Anini-y and NC Belison in the morning and afternoon, respectively. The following day, it established the NC Bugasong and NC San Remigio. NC Barbaza and NC Laua-an were launched on September 20.
Republic Act No. 10644, otherwise known as the Go Negosyo Act, mandates the establishment of NCs in all cities and municipalities in the country for the purpose that micro, small and medium entrepreneurs (MSMEs) could have easier access in registering their business names.
Aside from this, the NCs likewise provide business advisory services, and business information and advocacy wherein MSMEs are provided with access on trainings for business conceptualization and feasibility, financing, management, marketing, among others.
94 NCs established

This week, eight (8) additional NCs were established in the region – San Joaquin, Iloilo (Sept. 25); Nabas, Aklan; Sara and Lemery, Iloilo (Sept. 26); Escalante, Negros Occidental and Tangalan, Aklan (Sept. 27); and, Leganes, Iloilo and Dumarao, Capiz (Sept. 28).
As of September 28, the DTI VI has already established a total of 94 NCs — Aklan Province – 14; Antique Province – 18; Capiz Province – 13; Guimaras Province – 4; Iloilo Province – 26; and, Negros Occidental Province – 21.
Of the total, six (6) are lodged in DTI provincial offices and 88 are in the local government units. Of the total 133 LGUs in Western Visayas, 42 municipalities are still to establish their NCs (Aklan – 3; Capiz – 4; Guimaras – 2; Iloilo – 19; Negros Occidental – 14).
In all, DTI VI is expected to establish a total of 136 NCs since there are two NCs lodged in the following – Iloilo City (DTI Office and Iloilo Provincial Capitol), Bacolod City (DTI Office and Negros Occidental Provincial Capitol), and Guimaras (DTI Office and Jordan Town Hall).♦

Date of release: 1 October 2018