Screenshot taken during the webinar on 06 April 2022 via Zoom.

On April 6, 2022, the DTI-Philippine Accreditation Bureau (DTI-PAB) conducted a capacity building webinar on relevant accreditation standards for the Department of Energy (DOE) personnel.

The objective of the activity is to aid DOE in the implementation of its Department Circular on the Recognition of Testing Laboratories for the Examination, Testing and Verification of Energy Efficiency of Energy-Consuming Products, and in the development of related policies, guidelines, and regulations in support of the implementation of the Republic Act 11285 or the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Act.

Director Patrick T. Aquino of DOE-Energy Utilization Management Bureau (EUMB) stated that the webinar is also a venue for the DOE to be clarified on the boundaries, applicability as well as how to integrate and implement the standard in their system, and methodology towards quality and reliable recognition scheme.

Ms. Michelle P. Esteban, Chief of the DTI-PAB Laboratory Accreditation Division, gave an overview of the DTI-PAB’s mandate, as well as the accreditation standards on ISO/IEC 17025 (General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories), and ISO/IEC 17020 (Conformity assessment — Requirements for the operation of various types of bodies performing inspection). The activity involved thirty-six (36) DOE personnel from the Energy

Utilization Management Bureau (EUMB), the Alternative Fuels and Energy Technology Division (AFETD), the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Performance Regulation and Enforcement Division (EFRED), and the Energy Research and Testing Laboratory (ERTLS).

In addition to accreditation services, the DTI-PAB conducts accreditation briefings and gives an overview of accreditation standards in order to promote and encourage the use of accreditation in the delivery of better regulation, environmental protection, and public safety. To know more about the services of DTI-PAB, please visit

Release Date: 13 April 2022.