Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Northern Mindanao awarded Local Government Units (LGUs) in Region 10 that made it to the top 20 in the 2018 Cities and Municipalities Competitiveness Index (CMCI) Survey.

DTI-10 Regional Director Linda Boniaogave the plaques and certificates during the 120th Regional Development Council (RDC)-X Full Council Meeting held last 4 December 2019 in Tangub City.

The CMCI is an annual ranking of Philippine cities and municipalities developed by the National Competitiveness Council through the Regional Competitiveness Committees (RCCs) with the assistance of the United States Agency for International Development.

Cities or municipalities are ranked on their competitiveness in the four pillars: economic dynamism, government efficiency, infrastructure, and resiliency. Scores are determined by the completeness of data and the values of the actual data submitted.

Camiguin and Misamis Oriental garnered the most number of awards, including recognitions of its cites or municipalities.

Camiguin managed to become the 4th most competitive province out of the 84 provinces in the country. Meanwhile, Mambajao, Camiguin was recognized as the 1st most competitive municipality for the 3rd to 6th class municipalities category. It was also awarded 1st in economic dynamism, 3rd in government efficiency, 19th in infrastructure, and 16th in resiliency.

On the other hand, Misamis Oriental was proclaimed as the 19th most competitive province with Medina as the 17th most competitive municipality and Cagayan de Oro as the 7th most competitive city. Cagayan de Oro also ranked 10th in economic dynamism, 6th in government efficiency, 10th in infrastructure, and 2nd in resiliency.

The following are the complete list of awardees in different categories in Northern Mindanao:

Most Competitive Province

  • 4th – Camiguin
  • 19th – Misamis Occidental

Most Competitive City

  • 7th – Cagayan de Oro City

Most Competitive Municipality

  • 1st – Mambajao, Camiguin
  • 17th – Medina, Misamis Oriental

Economic Dynamism

3rd to 6th class municipalities

  • a. 1st – LGU – Mambajao, Camiguin
  • b. 17th – LGU – Calamba, Misamis Occidental

Component and Independent Cities

  • 10th – Cagayan de Oro City

Government Efficiency

3rd to 6th class municipalities 

  • 3rd – LGU – Mambajao, Camiguin

Component and Independent Cities

  • 6th – Cagayan de Oro City


3rd to 6th class municipalities 

  • 3rd – LGU – Jimenez, Misamis Occidental
  • 12th – LGU – Kolambugan, Lanao del Norte
  • 19th – LGU – Mambajao, Camiguin

Component and Independent Cities

  • 10th – Cagayan de Oro City


1st to 2nd class municipalities 

  • 7th – LGU – Kapatagan, Lanao del Norte
  • 15th – LGU – Maramag, Bukidnon

3rd to 6th class municipalities

  • 16th – LGU – Mambajao, Camiguin

Component and Independent Cities

  • 2nd – Cagayan de Oro City
  • 11th – Iligan City

♦ Date of Release: 23 December 2019