NORTHERN MINDANAO — Six coffee growers in Bukidnon generated P604,750 in sales during a face-to-face auction in the first Northern Mindanao Coffee Quality Competition in Malaybalay, Bukidnon last March 18, 2023.

Coffee beans submitted by the  six winners of the Arabica category and five winners of the Robusta category were open for auction to all coffee enthusiasts present in the awarding ceremony.

The highest bid was given to the micro-lot (59 kilograms) of Manolito Garces, winner in the Arabica category. The closing price was P2,600 per kilogram, generating a total value of P153,400.

The winning bidder for Graces’ micro-lot was The Good Cup Coffee Co.

The remaining award-winning micro-lot (59 kilograms) of Arabica coffee beans of the second to fourth place generated the following total value: P135,700 for the second place (Aiza Inahan); P100,300 for the third place (Arnold Pina); P94,400 for the fourth place (Marion Inahan); and P88,500 for fifth place (Joannah Dumaquita).

Meanwhile, the Robusta coffee beans of Primitiva Mahumot, which placed first, generated a total value of P32,450 for its micro-lot (59 kilograms).

Primitiva Mahumot, Aiza Inahan, Arnold Pina, and Marion Inahan are members of the Bayanihan Millenium Mutli-Purpose Cooperative.

On the other hand, Joannah Dumaquita is a member of MILALITTRA Farmers Agriculture Cooperative.

The Regional Coffee Quality Competition aims to identify and promote the best quality coffee in Northern Mindanao. The competition was held on March 14-17, 2023 at the Coffee Cupping Laboratory of Central Mindanao University (CMU), Bukidnon.

The competition was organized by the Regional Coffee Council of Region 10, Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Region 10, Rural Agro-enterprise Partnerships for Inclusive Development (RAPID) Growth Project, ACDI/VOCA Philippine Coffee Advancement and Farm Enterprise (PhilCAFE), Department of Agriculture-Philippine Rural Development Project, Peace & Equity Foundation, US Department of Agriculture (USDA), and CMU.♦

Date of Release: 22 March 2023