Involvement in Regional and International Recognition


The PAB operates its accreditation schemes in accordance with ISO/IEC 17011:2017, Conformity assessment – General requirements for accreditation bodies accrediting conformity assessment bodies and the applicable IAF/APAC and ILAC/APAC Mandatory and Guidance documents.

The PAB is recognized internationally through its membership to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF), International Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC), Asia Pacific Accreditation Cooperation (APAC), and Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) Consultative Committee on Standards and Quality (ACCSQ) Working Group on Accreditation and Conformity Assessment (WG2), and International Halal Accreditation Forum (IHAF).

PAB is also a signatory member to the Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA) for Quality Management System (QMS), Environmental Management System (EMS), Food Safety Management System (FSMS), and Product Certification from APAC/IAF, and for testing, calibration, medical testing, and inspection of APAC/ILAC.

Generally, it takes some time for an accreditation body to achieve MRA/MLA member status. Aside from complying with the documentary requirements, the accreditation body has to fully implement the accreditation programs for which it is seeking signatory status and pass the peer evaluation.

International Accreditation Forum (IAF)

The IAF is the world association of Conformity Assessment Accreditation Bodies and other bodies interested in conformity assessment in the fields of management systems, products, services, personnel and other similar programmes of conformity assessment.

International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC)

The ILAC is a worldwide organization for laboratories and inspection bodies to help remove technical barriers to trade.

 Asia Pacific Accreditation Cooperation 

APAC ‘s primary role is to manage and expand a mutual recognition arrangement (MRA) among accreditation bodies in the Asia Pacific region.  The MRA facilitates the acceptance of conformity assessment results (e.g. test reports, test certificates, inspection reports, and certification) across the region and with other regions around the world. Conformity assessment results that are produced by conformity assessment bodies (CABs) that have been accredited by one APAC MRA signatory are accepted by all the other APAC MRA signatories. 

Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) Consultative Committee on Standards and Quality (ACCSQ) Working Group on Accreditation and Conformity Assessment (WG2)

The ACCSQ WG2 is the working group of ASEAN focused into development of accreditation and conformity assessment technical infrastructure of member countries in line with applicable international standards and/or guidelines in order to achieve recognition by national/ regional/ international bodies.

International Halal Accreditation Forum (IHAF)

IHAF is an independent, non-government network of accreditation entities all mandated to enforce halal standards in their countries and regions.

Empowered by its aim to protect the growing number of halal consumers and to facilitate international trade, IHAF establishes a solid ground for the global industry of halal food and non-food products.