Continuing its mission to empower consumers and ensure fair market practices, the Department of Trade and Industry R2-Cagayan, represented by STIDS Tess Guitering, conducted a reorganization of the Claveria Local Price Coordinating Council (LPCC) and the formulation of a comprehensive 2-Year (2024-2025) LPCC Action Plan on 23 February 2024.

The BSP Bank Officer IV-Maria Elena Madriaga also equipped participants on how to detect counterfeited Philippine currency, and BSP’s Paleng-QR Code Plus Ph program that shall counter counterfeit and violators of RA 10909: “An Act Prohibiting Business Establishments from Giving Insufficient or No Change to Consumers and Providing Penalties Thereof.”

On the other hand, SBC Account Officer Lester Bunagan presented RISE UP: Resilient, Innovative and Sustainable Enterprise Multi-Purpose Loan Program that individual borrowers and business groups may avail at lower interest.

Meanwhile, the BSP Area Director Eva Marcos discussed Paleng-QR Code Plus Ph and its proposed adoption by LGU through the enactment of the ordinance, on which the presiding head of the local legislative, Vice Mayor Agpuldo, expressed a positive response and committed to tackle this matter in the legislative and executive Offices.

In the afternoon, Ms. Guitering introduced to the participants the important features of JOINT DTI-DA-DOE ADMIN. ORDER (JAO) NO. 17-01, SERIES OF 2017: Additional Privilege of 5% Persons With Disabilities Discount on BNPC Products, and JOINT DTI-DA-DOE ADMIN. ORDER (JAO) NO. 17-02, SERIES OF 2017: Additional Privilege of 5% Senior Citizen Discount on BNPC Products.

She also presented the Joint Memorandum Circular (JMC) No. 01, Series of 2022: Guidelines on the Provision of the Mandatory Statutory Benefits and Privileges of the Senior Citizens and Persons with Disabilities on their Purchase through online (e-commerce) and phone calls/messages.

In display of full support from LGU Claveria were Mayor Lucille Angelus Guillen-Yapo; Vice Mayor Fredelino Agpuldo; alongside key officials including SB Chair on Trade and Industry, Mr. Christan Jay G. Lazaro; BPLO, Mr. Ernesto A. Paje; MLGOO representative, Mr. Jaren A. Queja; Municipal Agriculturist representative, Mr. Decem Clarence A. Oal; LCRO and Mun. Tourism/OTOP Focal Person, Mr. Randolph G. Simon; Market Supervisor, Ms. Janet Paoig; and MENRO, Mr. Rodolfo V. Gapusan.

Date of release: 19 March 2024