PASAY CITY — The Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) and the Department of Agriculture (DA), in partnership with ACDI/VOCA and the Barista & Coffee Academy of Asia (BCAA), staged this year’s Philippine Coffee Quality Competition (PCQC) awarding ceremonies during the Philippine Coffee Expo 2023 held at the World Trade Center, Pasay City on Sunday, 04 June 2023. 

This is the culmination of the month-long competition that commenced after the collection of entries on 02 May 2023. The entire selection and judging process was monitored by the Coffee Quality Institute (CQI) and organized by the BCAA.

The 2023 PCQC awarded the number one spot to Monolito Garces of Finca de Garces from Bukidnon for the Arabica category and Vilma Lasan of Tirad Pass Coffee Growers Association from Ilocos Sur for the Robusta category. The two triumphed over 138 entries received for this year’s conduct, the highest number of competition participants since its inception in 2018.

The PCQC is an annual competition for the title of best-produced coffee from the country as determined by CQI-certified judges. Aside from its competitive aspect, the event serves as an avenue to promote the Filipino coffee industry to the international market scene. Through the grading results, coffee farmers are able identify areas for enhancement in their coffee farming process resulting in more globally competitive produce. 

The competition also paves the way for MSMEs who aim to further hone their skills in coordinating, collaborating, and enhancing their potential through capacity-building seminars, exhibitions, and market linkage where coffee connoisseurs, investors, students, and other stakeholders gather to explore the Philippine coffee industry even more.

The DTI will continue to support its institutional partners in creating and staging better and more effective ways to promote the local coffee industry. 

The winners of 2023 Philippine Coffee Quality Competition are as follow:

For Arabica category:

  1. Bukidnon – Manolito Garces of Finca de Garces
  2. Davao del Sur – Jhon Lawrence Dela Cerna of BACOFA
  3. Davao del Sur – Dione Ellaga of Don’s Ka Farm
  4. Bukidnon – Junmar Gunayan – MILALITTRA Farmers Agriculture Cooperative (MILFACO)
  5. Davao del Sur – Rogelio Gonzales – BACOFA
  6. Bukidnon – Arnold Pina – Bayanihan Millennium Multi-Purpose Cooperative (BMMPC)
  7. Lanao del Sur – Rogelio Balacuit
  8. Davao del Sur – Cecilia Cavalida
  9. Bukidnon – Rosebele Sulatan
  10. Davao del Sur – Cherry Gil Cabanday
  11. Davao del Sur – Roquita Dela Cerna
  12. Davao del Sur – Lendilou Loon

For Robusta category:

  1. Ilocos Sur – Vima Lasan of Tirad Pass Coffee Growers Association 
  2. Ilocos Sur – Mabini Ubuan of San Elias Coffee Growers Association
  3. Ilocos Sur – Juana Bitongan of Tirad Pass Coffee Growers Association
  4. Ilocos Sur – Marietta Lidem 
  5. Ilocos Sur – Jean Apalet of San Elias Coffee Growers Association
  6. Ilocos Sur – Byron Daplayan of San Elias Coffee Growers Association
  7. Ilocos Sur – Silvestra Villegas
  8. Sultan Kudarat – Reyjohn Basco
  9. Ilocos Sur – Erlinda Dao-ayan
  10. Sultan Kudarat – Robert James Gacayan
  11. Ilocos Sur – Jordan Dalida
  12. Ilocos Sur – Marielle Gannad

Special citation for Excelsa Category was also given to the following participants:

  1. Isabela – Marites Sibuyan of AFRARCO
  2. Quezon – Eufronio Matibag of Pinagdanlayan Multipurpose Cooperative
  3. Basilan – UWARBMPC Farmer 

Regional Director Juliet Lucas of DTI-Cordillera Administrative Region is the DTI National Industry Cluster Coordinator for Coffee. *

Date of release: 07 June 2023